Northwoods Improvisers - Fanfares | FAMS COALITION


Locate a FAMS Store near you, in person or online

Find and visit a FAMS Black Owned Store,get phone number and directions
(call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)
Purchase now from a FAMS store that sells online

Shop Now

Store Distance Phone Buy


1. Luna Turca
2. Ground Swell
3. Anointed from David to Christ
4. Swamp Birds
5. Fanfare for Aj
6. Midnights with Mike (Destination Out)
7. Sunny's Dance
8. Hymn for Dennis Gonzalez
9. In Fields

More Info:

The Northwoods Improvisers return with a new album. Fanfares is the latest effort with a quintet/sextet lineup that includes the veteran rhythm section of Mike Johnston and Nick Ashton and reunites them with a fierce front line of saxophonists Dominic Bierenga and Donovan Boxey, and the strings of Jack O'Brien and Mike Khoury. While the group touches on the spiritual in many ways, they also bring forth fire in the form of the winds duo of Bierenga and Boxey. The music has the strong rhythm section listeners will instantly recognize with Johnston's deep bass lines and Ashton's powerful drumming. Johnston, O'Brien and Khoury form a lush string section enhancing the compositions.

back to top