Igor Levit - Fantasia [2CD] | FAMS COALITION


Locate a FAMS Store near you, in person or online

Fantasia [2CD]
Artist: Igor Levit
Format: CD


Label: Sony Classical
Rel. Date: 09/29/2023
UPC: 196588116421

Find and visit a FAMS Black Owned Store,get phone number and directions
(call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)
Purchase now from a FAMS store that sells online

Shop Now

Store Distance Phone Buy


1. Chromatic Fantasia and Fugue in D Minor, BWV 903
2. Suite for String Orchestra No. 3 in D Major, BWV 1068: Air (Arr. for piano by A. Siloti)
3. Piano Sonata in B Minor, S. 178
4. Der Doppelgänger, S . 560, No. 12


1. Piano Sonata, Op. 1
2. Klavierstück in B Minor
3. Fantasia contrappuntistica, BV 256
4. Nuit de Noël, BV 251

More Info:

  • Renowned for scaling pianistic pinnacles, “Enterprising pianist Igor Levit”(Financial Times) takes his listener on a base-to-summit-ascent of 4 vertiginous keyboard works that lie close to his heart from Bach, Liszt, Berg and Busoni.


  • Four quite extraordinary compositions "sui generis" meet here –Liszt’s legendary B-minor Sonata, Berg’s singular and boundary-breaking Sonata Op. 1, Busoni’s rarely performed, monumental and Bach-inspired Fantasia Contrappuntistica, plus Bach’s unique Chromatic Fantasia and Fugue in D minor.


  • Includes very well-known pieces (Liszt’s B-minor Sonata, Bach’s “Air”) as well as rarely heard/recorded pieces.  


  • Each composer’s keywork is accompanied by a shorter companion piece which will offer streaming opportunities. Included is Bach’s incredibly famous “Air”, and Liszt/Schubert’s “Doppelgänger /Schwanengesang” (Swan Song). We will release Busoni’s “Nuit du Noel” as a single in time for Christmas playlists.


  • Levit has lived with both Liszt’s Sonata and Busoni’s Fantasia for a long time, and has had celebrated performances at the Salzburg Festival and Carnegie Hall. His current recital program includes the Liszt Sonata.

back to top