Brother Boys - On The Honky Tonk Highway With The Brother Boys | FAMS COALITION


Locate a FAMS Store near you, in person or online

On The Honky Tonk Highway With The Brother Boys
Artist: Brother Boys
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 09/08/2023
UPC: 4000127176851

Find and visit a FAMS Black Owned Store,get phone number and directions
(call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)
Purchase now from a FAMS store that sells online

Shop Now

Store Distance Phone Buy


1. Wanna, Wanna, Wanna
2. Blue From Now On
3. The Diamond Stream
4. Majestic
5. The First Time
6. Loose Talk
7. (You've Got The Look Of A) Perfect Diamond
8. Tango Till You're Sore
9. Two Men
10. Blue Days, Black Nights
11. Town That Never Sleeps
12. My Shoes Keep Walking Back To You
13. Black Fifty Ford
14. Nickel Plate Road
15. I'm No Longer In Your Heart
16. Jordan Am A Hard Road To Travel
17. Small Southern Town
18. Pinto Pony
19. The Great Atomic Power
20. Gonna Row My Boat
21. Kiss The Dream Girl
22. Alone With You
23. Blue Guitar
24. Darkest Day
25. Satellite Shack
26. Come On In (And Make Yourself At Home)
27. Crazy Heart
28. Heartaches Meet Mr. Blues
29. Pearlie Mae
30. Band Box
31. Moonshine Grin
32. What's The Calling For
33. Those Two Blue Eyes
34. When The Day Is Done
35. Tell Me What You Want Me To Do
36. Strange
37. Let's Shake Loose
38. Twist You Up
39. I'll Rise When the Rooster Crows
40. Then and Only Then
41. Everybody Wants to Go to Heaven
42. Conversation With Death
43. The Ramshackle Shack
44. Crazy Arms
45. I Just Roll Along
46. In The Shadow Of Clinch Mountain
47. Memphis Shakedown
48. I Can't Tell You Anymore (What I Need)
49. Shade And River Time
50. Sweet Riverside
51. Goodbye

More Info:

The Brother Boys - On The Honky Tonk Highway With The Brother Boys: New Hillbilly Music / Bear Family Recordsr presents the Brother Boys, an Americana act from East Tennessee founded in the late 1980s by Ed Snodderly and Eugene Wolf, still active these days. -The individual style mix of classic country, folk, old-time, bluegrass, blues, rockabilly, gospel, and singer-songwriter pop stubbornly resists any pigeonholing and still sounds ahead of it's time. -Described by the band itself as 'New Hillbilly Music,' the Brother Boys carry musical traditions from the last century into the modern day. -The album includes nearly all of the tracks from the 1988 debut album, a host of tracks from the two albums originally released on Sugar Hill, as well as eight unreleased live and radio recordings and selections from the 2021 comeback album. Whether in concert or on recordings, The Brother Boys - bandleaders Ed Snodderly and Eugene Wolf and their various bandmates - for more than three decades have created music reflecting the influence of several roots music styles while remaining original, true to their own sound. Deeply rooted in the past yet ahead of their time, The Brother Boys have been overlooked precisely because their music is not easily categorizable. In 1988, Snodderly, Wolf, and some bandmates recorded the group's eponymous debut album for their own label, New Hillbilly Records. The Brother Boys were steeped in the histories of several musical genres, with a repertoire that drew from - but did not imitate - classic country, folk, old-time, bluegrass, blues, rockabilly, gospel, and singer-songwriter pop. What rendered The Brother Boys' music distinctive was it's organic blend of ingredients: Snodderly's and Wolf's authoritative lead vocals and adventurous 'brother duo'-style harmony singing; older but not overly familiar standards mixed with Snodderly's evocative original songs; as well as deft and daring acoustic and electric guitar playing from Snodderly with skilled instrumental support from a merry band of string and percussion wizards.

back to top