March Violets - Play Loud Play Purple [Colored Vinyl] (Gate) [Limited Edition] (Purp) | FAMS COALITION


Locate a FAMS Store near you, in person or online

Find and visit a FAMS Black Owned Store,get phone number and directions
(call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)
Purchase now from a FAMS store that sells online

Shop Now

Store Distance Phone Buy


1. Radiant Boys
2. Religious As Hell
3. Fodder
4. Children on Stun
5. Bon Bon Babies
6. Grooving in Green;
7. Steam
8. Crow Baby
9. 1 2 I Love You
10. Long Pig
11. Snake Dance
12. It's Hot;
13. Slow Drip Lizard
14. Walk Into the Sun
15. Lights Go Out
16. Essence
17. Deep; S
18. Eldorado
19. Electric Shades
20. Cut Down Pretty
21. Road of Bones
22. Mortality

More Info:

Double purple colored vinyl LP pressing in gatefold jacket. The Complete Singles 1982 - 85 & More. Twenty-two tracks - all their '80's repertoire plus three highlights from this century. The March Violets came out of Leeds in the early 80's. Releasing six singles, they were a constant presence in the UK indie charts, hitting the top two spots with 'Snakedance', 'Deep' and number one with 'Walk Into The Sun'. They never got around to recording an album - their only '80's long-players, Natural History in the UK and Electric Shades in the USA, were compilations. Eventually they signed to a major label and were groomed for a USA breakthrough, performing in the 1987 'Some Kind of Wonderful' movie. However they were asked to make too many compromises and eventually split up. Here is all their 1980's independent catalogue compiled in the original versions, together with three tracks from this century. It chronicles their development with lead singers Simon Denbigh, Rosie Garland and Cleo Murray and backed by bassist Lawrence Elliot and guitarist Tom Ashton.

back to top