Marcia Griffiths / Lindo,Willie - Sweet Bitter Love / Far & Distant | FAMS COALITION


Locate a FAMS Store near you, in person or online

Find and visit a FAMS Black Owned Store,get phone number and directions
(call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)
Purchase now from a FAMS store that sells online

Shop Now

Store Distance Phone Buy


1. The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face - Marcia Griffiths
2. Play Me - Marcia Griffiths
3. There's No Me Without You - Marcia Griffiths
4. I Just Don't Want to Be Lonely - Marcia Griffiths
5. Gypsy Man - Marcia Griffiths
6. Sweet Bitter Love - Marcia Griffiths
7. Here I Am (Come and Take Me) - Marcia Griffiths
8. Everything I Own - Marcia Griffiths
9. Green Grasshopper - Marcia Griffiths
10. Children at Play - Marcia Griffiths
11. Play Me - Marcia Griffiths ; Lloyd Charmers
12. Drum Song - Willie Lindo
13. Darker Shade of Black (Norwegian Wood) - Willie Lindo
14. Midnight (Train to Georgia) - Willie Lindo
15. Samba Pa Ti - Willie Lindo
16. Chopper - Willie Lindo
17. Here I Am Baby - Willie Lindo
18. Charmers Mood - Willie Lindo
19. Mystic Mood - Willie Lindo
20. Breezing - Willie Lindo
21. Holly Holy - Willie Lindo
22. Midnight - Willie Lindo
23. The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face (Alt. Mix) - Marcia
24. There's No Me Without You (Alt. Mix) - Marcia Griffiths
25. I Just Don't Want to Be Lonely (Alt. Mix) - Marcia Griffiths
26. Gypsy Man (Alt. Mix) - Marcia Griffiths
27. Here I Am (Come and Take Me) (Alt. Mix)
28. Everything I Own (Alt. Mix) - Marcia Griffiths
29. Green Grasshopper (Alt. Mix)- Marcia Griffiths
30. Children at Play (Alt. Mix) - Marcia Griffiths
31. Sweet Bitter Love (7" Mix) - Marcia Griffiths
32. Play Me (7" Mix) - Marcia Griffiths
33. Fire Burning - Bob Andy
34. Bone Yard Skank -The Bone Yard Belly Dancers
35. I'm a Changed Man - B.B. Seaton
36. You Make Me Feel Brand New - Boris Gardiner
37. Oh Pa Pa - the Drifting Blenders
38. Johnny Reggae - Big Youth
39. Hear Thy Children Cry - Errol Thomas
40. Been Such a Long Time - B.B. Seaton
41. Let's Get It on (Version) - Lloyd Charmers
42. Fire Burning (Alternate Version) - Bob Andy

More Info:

Includes nine previously unreleased tracks. Total of 17 tracks new to CD. Two essential soulful reggae albums from 1974. Widely recognised as one of reggae music's most soulful operators, Lloyd Charmers was at the peak of his creative powers throughout the 1970s, with this 2CD celebration of the producer's output from 74 demonstrating a true master of his craft. The first disc comprises a brace of best-selling reggae long-players, the popularity of which ensured they were seldom unavailable to the buying public for years after their original release date. The collections cemented the reputations of the two supremely gifted performers whose respective vocal and instrumental talents were effectively showcased by Charmers's seemingly effortless production skills. CD2 commences with an alternative version of Marcia Griffiths' debut solo album, presenting eight previously unissued mixes, followed by the original 7" mixes of the title track and the singer's popular version of Neil Diamond's 'Play Me'. Rounding off the collection of superior soulful reggae sounds are a further ten Charmers' productions from 1974, with their number including such major works B. B. Seaton's superb versions of The Impressions' 'Finally Got Myself Together (I'm A Changed Man)' and the New Birth hit, 'Been Such A Long Time', the ultra-rare 'Her Thy Childen Cry' by Errol Thomas, 'Johnny Reggae' by DJ legend Big Youth, Boris Gardiner's sublime reworking of 'You Make Me Feel Brand New' and two takes of Bob Andy's anthemic 'Fire Burning', with the second cut unissued until now.

back to top