Magnum - Great Adventure: The Jet Years 1978-1983 (Box) | FAMS COALITION


Locate a FAMS Store near you, in person or online

Great Adventure: The Jet Years 1978-1983 (Box)
Artist: Magnum
Format: CD


Label: HNE
Rel. Date: 08/25/2023
UPC: 5013929929623

Find and visit a FAMS Black Owned Store,get phone number and directions
(call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)
Purchase now from a FAMS store that sells online

Shop Now

Store Distance Phone Buy


1. In the Beginning
2. Baby Rock Me
3. Universe
4. Kingdom of Madness
5. All That Is Real
6. The Bringer
7. Invasion
8. Lords of Chaos
9. All Come Together
10. Sea Bird (1974 Demo)
11. Stormbringer (1974 Demo)
12. Slipping Away (1974 Demo)
13. Captain America (1974 Demo)
14. Master of Disguise (Kingdom of Madness Session Outtake)
15. Without Your Love (Kingdom of Madness Session Outtake)
16. Find the Time (Kingdom of Madness Session Outtake)
17. Everybody Needs (Kingdom of Madness Session Outtake)
18. Kingdom of Madness (Alternative Version)
19. Great Adventure
20. Changes
21. The Battle
22. If I Could Live Forever
23. Reborn
24. So Cold the Night
25. Foolish Heart
26. Stayin' Alive
27. Firebird
28. All of My Life
29. Lonesome Star
30. Changes (Remix Version)
31. Everybody Needs
32. Changes (Live)
33. Foolish Heart (Acoustic Version)
34. If I Could Live Forever
35. The Battle
36. Foolish Heart
37. In the Beginning
38. Reborn
39. Changes
40. So Cold the Night
41. Lords of Chaos
42. All of My Life (Magnum Live Ep)
43. Great Adventure (Magnum Live Ep)
44. Invasion (Magnum Live Ep)
45. Kingdom of Madness (Magnum Live Ep)
46. Reborn (Invasion Live)
47. Changes (Invasion Live)
48. All of My Life (Invasion Live)
49. Invasion (Invasion Live)
50. Kingdom of Madness (Invasion Live)
51. Soldier of the Line
52. On the Edge of the World
53. The Spirit
54. Sacred Hour
55. Walking the Straight Line
56. We All Play the Game
57. The Teacher
58. The Lights Burned Out
59. Back to Earth
60. Hold Back Your Love
61. Soldier of the Line (Invasion Live)
62. Sacred Hour (Invasion Live)
63. Long Days, Black Nights
64. The Lights Burned Out (Archive)
65. The Spirit (Invasion Live)
66. Soldier of the Line (Acoustic Version)
67. The Prize
68. Breakdown
69. The Great Disaster
70. Vicious Companions
71. So Far Away
72. Hit and Run
73. One Night of Passion
74. The Word
75. Young and Precious Souls
76. Road to Paradise
77. The Word (Alternative Orchestral Version)
78. True Fine Love (Outtake)
79. The Prize (Acoustic Version)
80. One Night of Passion (Acoustic Version)

More Info:

Five albums from the early days of Magnum - four studio recordings and the live 'Marauder' album. Covering releases from 1978-1983 plundering their archives with plenty of rarities and B-sides, demos and live tracks. Magnum originally formed in Birmingham in 1972 around guitarist and songwriter Tony Clarkin and singer Bob Catley. Although a one-off single for CBS in 1975 failed to bring their singular brand of progressive but highly melodic hard rock to the masses, they eventually found a home for their debut - 'Kingdom Of Madness' (CD1) - on Jet Records in 1978, joining ELO, and later Ozzy Osbourne. The album had actually been recorded two years earlier, but the band were heavy enough to take advantage of the growth in popularity of hard rock and heavy metal in the late 1970s. 'Magnum II' (CD3) followed in 1979, promoted by the singles 'Changes' and 'Foolish Heart'. Produced by Ten Years After's Leo Lyons, who had previously produced UFO's first three albums for Chrysalis. Regular touring with the likes of Judas Priest and Blue Öyster Cult built up a loyal following across the UK. When their second album didn't quite match the success of their debut, Jet recorded their December 1979 show at London's legendary Marquee Club for release as a live album. 'Marauder' (CD4) made a suitable stop-gap until Magnum's third studio record, and is expanded here with a further nine live bonus tracks. Although recorded in 1980, 'Chase The Dragon' (CD5) didn't get released until 1982. An early career peak, as well as one of the band's formative masterpieces, the wait was well worth it, as it entered the UK Top 20, peaking at a creditable No. 17. 'Eleventh Hour' (CD6), their fourth and final studio album for Jet, was released in 1983. Tellingly it was their first not to feature any singles. After leaving Jet, Magnum went from strength to strength, releasing their best seller, 'On A Storyteller's Night', in 1985, before signing a major label deal with Polydor Records.

back to top