Boo Radleys - Giant Steps: 30th Anniversary [Colored Vinyl] (Org) (Purp) | FAMS COALITION


Locate a FAMS Store near you, in person or online

Find and visit a FAMS Black Owned Store,get phone number and directions
(call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)
Purchase now from a FAMS store that sells online

Shop Now

Store Distance Phone Buy


1. I Hang Suspended
2. Upon 9th ; Fairchild
3. Wish I Was Skinny
4. Leaves and Sand
5. Butterfly McQueen
6. Rodney King (Song for Lenny Bruce)
7. Thinking of Ways
8. Barney (... And Me)
9. Spun Around
10. If You Want It, Take It
11. Best Lose the Fear
12. Take the Time Around
13. Lazurus
14. One Is for
15. Run My Way Runway
16. I've Lost the Reason
17. The White Noise Revisited
18. Lazarus (Saint Etienne Remix)
19. Rodney King (Saint Etienne Remix)

More Info:

Limited Orange & Purple colored vinyl with bonus 10-inch black vinyl featuring two remixes. The Boo Radleys celebrate the 30th anniversary of their nineties genre-hopping masterpiece "Giant Steps". NME's 1993 Album Of The Year, named in the Top 20 of Pitchfork's The 50 Best Shoegaze Albums of All Time and lauded as one of 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die, The Boo Radleys' classic album, Giant Steps will be reissued, on special remastered vinyl almost 30 years to the day since it's original release. The band's genre-ambiguous and widely-acclaimed masterpiece will become available to fans old and new on 1st September 2023 via Two-Piers. Only the second of their five albums to be released on the legendary Creation Records, at a time when label mates including Slowdive, Teenage Fanclub and Ride were also casting long shadows across the indie landscape, pre-the Oasis hurricane making landfall at the label, Giant Steps broke into the canon of great, experimental rock albums soon after it's release. It's first single, Lazarus, issued as a standalone release in November 1992, it's blend of brass and guitar-squall and acutely introspective lyrics, gave a hint of what was to come and remains lodged in the band's most-loved and best-known songs. For the 2023 reissue, Lazarus' 12" version appears on the all-formats track listing for the first time. Recorded at London's Protocol Studios, where Carr and Brown took on self-production duties with support from engineer, Andy Wilkinson, The Boo Radleys set about responding to their shared sense of dissatisfaction with their 1992 album, Everything's Alright Forever. Free to do as they please, they set about making a record of complete artistic freedom, bringing in reggae (Upon 9th And Fairchild), dance (Rodney King) and irresistible, warped indie pop (Barney And Me) influences into the studio and, without limitation, weaved them into the satisfyingly complex fabric of Giant Steps. Snapshot incidentals, intermissions and between-radio-station static intro/outros added to the sense of unrestrained exploration. Writing about the album, drummer, Cieka reflected on Giant Steps, stating: "Creation loved it, people's reactions seemed really positive. I do listen to it from time to time and still find great moments I'd forgotten about. I think it stands up pretty well today. I'm always left feeling happy to have been a part of the record."

back to top