Pierre Génisson - Mozart 1791 [Digipak] | FAMS COALITION


Locate a FAMS Store near you, in person or online

Find and visit a FAMS Black Owned Store,get phone number and directions
(call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)
Purchase now from a FAMS store that sells online

Shop Now

Store Distance Phone Buy


1. Mozart: Voi Che Sapete (From Le Nozze Di Figaro)
2. Mozart: Così Fan Tutte, K. 588, Act 1
3. "Come Scoglio" (Arr. Fontaine for Clarinet and Orchestra)
4. "Soave Sia Il Vento" (Arr. Fontaine for Clarinet and Orchestra)
5. Mozart: Clarinet Concerto in a Major, K622
6. I. Allegro
7. II. Adagio
8. III. Rondo. Allegro
9. Mozart: Parto, Parto, Ma Tu Ben Mio (From la Clemenza Di Tito)
10. Mozart: Una Donna a Quindici Anni (From Così Fan Tutte)
11. Mozart: La Clemenza Di Tito, K. 621, Act 2
12. Ecco Il Punto, O Vitellia
13. Non Più Di Fiori
14. Mozart: Requiem in D minor, K626: Lacrimosa

More Info:

For his first album as an exclusive Erato artist, the French clarinettist Pierre Ge'nisson focuses on his instrument's most inspired 18th century advocate: Mozart. The centrepiece of his programme is the composer's sublime clarinet concerto. "The spiritual and symbolic scope of this concerto is immense," says Ge'nisson. "Every time I come back to this masterwork, I experience the same thrill as when I discover a piece for the first time... Mozart and the clarinet - what a special combination!" Ge'nisson is established as one of today's leading French wind instrumentalists. A multi-faceted soloist, and a frequent guest with orchestras around the world, he trained in Paris at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique and in Los Angeles at the University of Southern California. His repertoire ranges from Mozart to jazz by way of folk music, and his lively interest in new music has led to collaborations with a number of prominent composers. Collaborating on this album with the period instruments of Concerto Köln and conductor Jakob Lehmann, Ge'nisson plays period clarinets, copies of instruments from Mozart's time, and modern clarinets specially crafted for the recording. The programme complements the sublime concerto with a number of shorter pieces. In two arias from La clemenza di Tito Génisson partners mezzo-soprano Karine Deshayes, but his clarinet also 'sings' the vocal lines in arrangements of numbers from Così fan tutte and Le nozze di Figaro. Rounding out the album is a new arrangement by Bruno Fontaine of the 'Lacrimosa' from the Requiem, made for clarinet, organ and Fender Rhodes electric piano.

back to top