Sviatoslav Richter - Richter Plays Prokofiev 'war Sonatas' Nos. 6-7-8 | FAMS COALITION


Locate a FAMS Store near you, in person or online

Richter Plays Prokofiev 'war Sonatas' Nos. 6-7-8
Artist: Sviatoslav Richter
Format: CD


Label: ALTO
Rel. Date: 06/16/2023
UPC: 5055354414596

Find and visit a FAMS Black Owned Store,get phone number and directions
(call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)
Purchase now from a FAMS store that sells online

Shop Now

Store Distance Phone Buy


1. Piano Sonata No. 6, Op. 82 i Allegro moderato
2. ii Allegretto
3. iii Tempo di valzer lentissimo
4. iv Vivace
5. Piano Sonata No. 7, Op. 83 i Allegro inquieto - poco meno - andantino
6. ii Andante caloroso - poco piu animato - piu largamento - un poco agitato
7. iv Precipitato
8. Piano Sonata No. 8 Op. 84 i Andante dolce - allegro moderato - Andante dolce - Allegro
9. ii Andante sognando
10. iii Vivace - Allegro ben marcato - Andantino - Vivace
11. Visions Fugitives: Nos. 3,6 ; 9
12. Gavotte from Cinderella

More Info:

(6th) "Richter's friendship with Prokofiev dated back to their student years, and Prokofiev entrusted him with the premieres of the Sixth and Seventh Sonatas and wrote the Ninth Sonata for him". (7th) "a superb achievement" "a big wartime work... that can easily sound sentimental if played with less elegance than this, and a brilliant final toccata in 7/8 rhythm [Gramophone] (8th) "(the recording) is the Prokofiev 8th Sonata which encompasses breadth and depth in a way none can match"[Penguin Guide3*]"

back to top