John Scofield / Archer,Vincente / Stewart,Bill - Uncle John's Band | FAMS COALITION


Locate a FAMS Store near you, in person or online

Find and visit a FAMS Black Owned Store,get phone number and directions
(call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)
Purchase now from a FAMS store that sells online

Shop Now

Store Distance Phone Buy


1. Mr. Tambourine Man
2. How Deep
3. TV Band
4. Back in Time
5. Budo
6. Nothing Is Forever
7. Old Man
8. The Girlfriend Chord
9. Stairway to the Stars
10. Mo Green
11. Mask
12. Somewhere
13. Ray's Idea
14. Uncle John's Band

More Info:

A new trio album from veteran guitarist John Scofield, who released his first career solo album last year. Vicente Archer replaces Steve Swallow on bass, and old friend and stablemate Bill Stewart takes over on drums. A change from his solo work released last year, Scofield, who says he loves bands, plays freely and uninhibitedly throughout the album on this two-disc set. He tackles a wide range of repertoire, from Dylan's "Mr. Tambourine Man" to Neil Young's "Old Man," from Leonard Bernstein's "Sam Whore" from "West Side Story" to Miles Davis' classic "Badu. Jazz standards such as "Kizashi to Hoshi e no Kizashi" and "Raise Idea," along with seven Scofield originals with a variety of tastes including swing, funk, and folk, stand side by side with the album's title song, the Grateful Dead's "Uncle John's Band" to close the show. Uncle John's Band. The red thread that runs through the work is the trio's improvisational momentum. We feel like we could go anywhere," Scofield says of the trio's versatility. This guitar work will appeal to a wide range of jam band fans and jazz fans alike.

back to top