Marianne Faithfull - Songs Of Innocence & Experience | FAMS COALITION


Locate a FAMS Store near you, in person or online

Songs Of Innocence & Experience
Artist: Marianne Faithfull
Format: CD


Label: Universal Import
Rel. Date: 10/21/2022
UPC: 602507292065

Find and visit a FAMS Black Owned Store,get phone number and directions
(call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)
Purchase now from a FAMS store that sells online

Shop Now

Store Distance Phone Buy


1. Come And Stay With Me
2. What Have They Done To The Rain?
3. Once I Had A Sweetheart
4. Come My Way [version 2]
5. Go Away From My World
6. This Little Bird
7. Nuit D' été [Summer Nights French Version] *First time on CD
8. Yesterday (live on the BBC)
9. Cockleshells (live on the BBC)
10. Green Are Your Eyes
11. Sally Free And Easy
12. Sunny Goodge Street [alternate take] *Previously unreleased recording
13. The First Time (Ever I Saw Your Face) [Faithfull Forever version] *First time on CD
14. With You In Mind
15. Hang On To A Dream
16. Young Girl Blues
17. Hier Ou Demain (from the film Anna) *First time on CD
18. Is This What I Get For Loving You?
19. Don't Make Promises
20. Something Better (Original 7" version) *First time on CD
21. Sister Morphine (Original 7" version) *First time on CD
22. It's All Over Now Baby Blue
23. Chords of Fame
24. The Ballad Of Lucy Jordan [original mix]
25. What's The Hurry [original mix]
26. Broken English [7" remix version]
27. Why D'ya Do It ? [12" version]
28. Over Here (No Time For Justice) *First time on CD
29. Intrigue [7" version] *First time on CD
30. Truth Bitter Truth [7" version] *First time on CD
31. Falling From Grace
32. Running For Our Lives [7" Version) *First time on CD
33. She's Got A Problem
34. I'm In Love Again *Previously unreleased
35. Strange Weather
36. As Tears Go By [re-recorded version]
37. A Stranger On Earth
38. The Calm Before the Storm *Previously unreleased
39. When I Find My Life (Live)
40. Brain Drain (Live) *Previously unreleased recording
41. The Boulevard Of Broken Dreams (Live) *Previously unreleased recording
42. Times Square (Live)
43. Bored by Dreams
44. The Stars Line Up

More Info:

First Marianne Faithfull compilation since 2001's 'An Introduction to...' and the first to contain rare and unreleased material since the Island Anthology 'A Perfect Stranger' in 1998. Containing 4 previously unreleased recordings including 1 completely unheard song. In addition to the unreleased material, 22 of the 29 tracks on the LP are making their first appearance on vinyl or first appearance since their original release, and on the 2xCD set, 9 recordings are making their CD/digital debut. This compilation offers a definitive overview of the first 30 years of Marianne's recording career on the Decca and Island labels, and features versions of all of her notable singles including the original issue of her final Decca 7" 'Something Better' / 'Sister Morphine' featuring alternate takes unavailable since 1969: It acts both as a primer to the uninitiated and a rarities collection for those already converted. The title Songs of Innocence and Experience acknowledges the change in vocal style between Marianne's orchestral folk-pop of her 60's career with her high pure voice and her new wave punk influenced comeback at the end of the 70's with Broken English featuring her trademark fractured vocals. The front cover features a hand drawn pencil image by Lithuanian artist Aiste Stancikaite, commissioned exclusively this for the project, and the packaging contains many rare and unseen images.

back to top