Billy Grammer - Gotta Travel On: Singles Collection & More 1958-62 | FAMS COALITION


Locate a FAMS Store near you, in person or online

Gotta Travel On: Singles Collection & More 1958-62
Artist: Billy Grammer
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 01/20/2023
UPC: 604988379020

Find and visit a FAMS Black Owned Store,get phone number and directions
(call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)
Purchase now from a FAMS store that sells online

Shop Now

Store Distance Phone Buy


1. Gotta Travel on
2. Chasing a Dream
3. Bonaparte's Retreat
4. The Kissing Tree
5. Willy, Quit Your Playing
6. It Takes You
7. A Thousand Miles Ago
8. How's the World Treating You
9. One Thousand Concrete Blocks
10. Barrel House Bessie
11. Loveland
12. On the Job Too Long
13. War Paint
14. Little Joe's Guitar
15. Princess of Persia
16. Unknown Soldier
17. Big, Big Dream
18. River of Regret
19. Rainbow Round My Shoulder
20. Columbus Stockade Blues
21. Have a Drink on Me
22. Finger
23. Save Your Tears
24. I'd Like to Know Why
25. Wabash Cannonball
26. Take Me Back South
27. He Ain't My Buddy No More
28. Blue Roller Rink
29. I Wanna Go Home (Detroit City)
30. The Bottom of the Glass

More Info:

Singer, guitarist, session picker and (eventually) guitar designer & manufacturer Billy Grammer enjoyed an extraordinary career, which included a lifetime's, 50+ years' membership of The Grand Ole Opry. He is perhaps chiefly remembered by collectors for his million-selling worldwide hit 'Gotta Travel On', the first release on Fred Foster's Monument label in 1958. This compilation is based on his singles releases between 1958-62, complemented by EP?and LP tracks, presenting the Very Best of Billy's output during this period. Includes further US hits like 'Bonaparte's Retreat', 'The Kissing Tree', 'Willy, Quit Your Playing', 'Rainbow Round My Shoulder', 'Have A Drink On Me' and of course 'I Wanna Go Home', the template for Bobby Bare and Tom Jones' later million-seller, 'Detroit City'. This is the first time this body of work has been thus compiled, and much of this material is difficult to find elsewhere on CD.

back to top