Jimmy Giuffre - Music For People Birds Butterflies & Mosquitoes | FAMS COALITION


Locate a FAMS Store near you, in person or online

Music For People Birds Butterflies & Mosquitoes
Artist: Jimmy Giuffre
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 12/01/2023
UPC: 708857332021

Find and visit a FAMS Black Owned Store,get phone number and directions
(call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)
Purchase now from a FAMS store that sells online

Shop Now

Store Distance Phone Buy


1. Mosquito Dance
2. Night Dance
3. Flute Song
4. Eternal Chant
5. The Bird
6. The Waiting
7. The Butterfly
8. The Chanting
9. Moonlight
10. Dervish
11. Phoneix
12. Feast Dance

More Info:

After a string of two dozen brilliant albums beginning in the 1950's, clarinetist, saxophonist, flutist, composer and arranger Jimmy Giuffre stopped recording. For nearly ten years he focused solely on live performance. This album, Music for People, Birds, Butterflies and Mosquitoes, marked his return to the studio after his self imposed hiatus. Known for developing forms of jazz which allowed for free interplay between the musicians, Giuffre began his career as an arranger for Woody Herman's big band in the late 1940s. Playing primarily saxophone, he became a central figure in the West Coast cool jazz scene of the 1950's, with the Lighthouse All Stars in Hermosa Beach, CA. In the late 50's, he began working within different configurations of the trio format, on what he called "blues-based folk jazz." A prime example being his piece "The Train and the River" famously featured in 1958 Newport Jazz Festival concert film, Jazz On A Summer's Day. The trio here is completed by drums and bass with Giuffre trading seamlessly between tenor saxophone, clarinet, flute and bass flute. The twelve original compositions are very much in Giuffre's signature style. The melody explorations have an eastern vibe, and are played in hushed tones with an almost chamber music like quality. From 1973, originally on the Choice label, this album has been remastered and is being presented here as the artist intended, with it's original title, track order and album artwork, for the first time since it's original release. Remastered by Alex McCollough at True East Mastering. Vinyl cut by Jeff Powell at Take Out Vinyl.

back to top