Arthur Baker Presents Dance Masters: John Luongo - Arthur Baker Presents Dance Masters: John Luongo | FAMS COALITION


Locate a FAMS Store near you, in person or online

Find and visit a FAMS Black Owned Store,get phone number and directions
(call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)
Purchase now from a FAMS store that sells online

Shop Now

Store Distance Phone Buy


1. Tina Turner - the Best (Extended Mighty Mix)
2. John Waite - Missing You (Extended Version)
3. Billy Idol - Eyes Without a Face (Full Length Version)
4. Rick Springfield - Human Touch (Extended Mix)
5. Huey Lewis ; the News - I Want a New Drug (Extended Version)
6. Greg Kihn Band - Jeopardy (Dance Mix)
7. Daryl Hall ; John Oates - Downtown Life (Downtown Remix)
8. ZZ Top - Viva Las Vegas (Remix)
9. The Escape Club - Wild, Wild West (Dance Mix)
10. Fine Young Cannibals - Suspicious Minds (Suspicious Mix)
11. Cher - Skin Deep (Extended Dance Mix)
12. Visage - Fade to Grey (U.S. 12" Version)
13. ABC - the Look of Love (Part 3 Dance Version)
14. Cabaret Voltaire - Crackdown (12" Version)
15. Blancmange - Blind Vision (Extended Version)
16. Wang Chung - Don't Let Go (Extended Remix)
17. Dragon - Rain (Us Dance Mix)
18. Peter Schilling - Major Tom (Coming Home) (Special Extended Version)
19. Camouflage - the Great Commandment (U.S. 12" Mix)
20. Soft Cell - Insecure... Me? (U.S. Extended Version)
21. Bill Nelson - Acceleration (Long Version)
22. Shakin' Stevens - Cry Just a Little Bit (Luongo's Mix)
23. Bananarama - Shy Boy (Don't It Make You Feel Good) (U.S. Extended Version)
24. KC ; the Sunshine Band - Give It Up (12" Version)
25. Falco - Junge Roemer (Specially Remixed 12" Version)
26. Baltimora - Tarzan Boy (Extended Dance Version)
27. Material - I'm the One (Dance Version Remix)
28. Gladys Knight ; the Pips - Save the Overtime (For Me) (12" Mix)
29. Level 42 - the Chinese Way (New York Remix)
30. I Level - Give Me (U.S. Remix)
31. Serge - Ponsar Out in the Night (12" Version)
32. Fantasy - You're Too Late (12" Extended Mix)
33. The Quick - Zulu (12" Mix)
34. Ms. Sharon Ridley - Changin ' (Full Length Version)
35. Melba Moore - You Stepped Into My Life (John Luongo Remix)
36. Patti Labelle - Music Is My Way of Life (John Luongo Remix)
37. Jackie Moore - This Time Baby Special (Special 12" Version)
38. Johnny Mathis - Gone, Gone, Gone (Disco Mix)
39. Dan Hartman Featuring - Loleatta Holloway Relight My Fire (The Historical 1979 Remix)
40. North End - Kind of Life (Kind of Love) (12" Vocal)
41. Marilyn McCoo ; Billy Davis Jr. - Shine on Silver Moon (12" Version)
42. Marlena Shaw - Love Dancin ' (12" Version)
43. Gonzalez - Haven't Stopped Dancing Yet (12" Disco Version)

More Info:

Following on from the highly successful first two editions of Dance Masters, featuring the classics mixes from maestros Shep Pettibone and Arthur Baker, the spotlight turns to another remix legend, John Luongo. Boston born, John is one of the truly legendary DJ's and remixers of the Disco era. John got his break at Epic by overdubbing percussion from saltshakers and spoons onto a promo and then passing them back the tape. This resulted in him being flown to New York and put in a studio (of his choice) to mix and produce Melba Moore's "You Stepped Into My Life". From this point everything he touched was a hit. He went onto remix Disco classics by Jackie Moore "This Time Baby", Dan Hartman "Vertigo Relight My Fire" and Patti Labelle "Music Is My Way Of Life". John, however, was not afraid of remixing artists that didn't fit into the disco genre, and this attitude is borne out by the tracklisting of this compilation on which Gladys Knight and The Pips rub shoulders with ZZ Top, and Billy Idol and Baltimora appears alongside Bill Nelson and I Level. "if you played this whole thing, just put it on and didn't tell anyone it was me, they'd say 'what a great group of songs this is!'" - John Luongo. The 4CD media book edition comes with a 32-page booklet featuring a foreword by Arthur Baker, an in-depth essay written by Alexis Petridis (Rock and Pop reviewer for The Guardian), and complete with rare photos from John's personal Collection. All tracks remastered by Nick Robbins at Sound Mastering. A 36 track 6LP vinyl edition is also available and as well as a cut down 16 track essential vinyl edition.

back to top