Katharina Weber - In Marta's Garden | FAMS COALITION


Locate a FAMS Store near you, in person or online

In Marta's Garden
Artist: Katharina Weber
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 09/30/2022
UPC: 7640120193935

Find and visit a FAMS Black Owned Store,get phone number and directions
(call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)
Purchase now from a FAMS store that sells online

Shop Now

Store Distance Phone Buy


1. Hommage a Kurtag Marta
2. Extemporale I
3. On More Animal for Marta's Garden
4. Extemporale II
5. Fuer Marta Kurtag
6. Extemporale III
7. Fuer Gyoergy Kurtag
8. Extemporale IV
9. Quasi Campane
10. Extemporale V
11. Jimbo's little Revenge
12. Extemporale VI
13. Im Gedenken an Marta Kurtag
14. Extemporale VII
15. Ein Winken von Ferne
16. Extemporale VIII
17. Windhauch in den Blaettern
18. Extemporale IX
19. Eine Wanderung mit Robert Walser ^1.20

More Info:

Fred Frith describes the Swiss pianist Katharina Weber as a "piano icon". The classically trained pianist and composer moves in the large world of today's music, where borders no longer exist and new music and jazz improvisation merge. In Márta's Garden is her second solo album. The musical framework is formed by two piano pieces by György Kurtág dedicated to Márta Kurtág and at the centre is his composition "... eine Wanderung mit Robert Walser... ". The exchange with the Kurtágs, which has now lasted three decades, has left intensive traces in Katharina Weber's work - as a performer, as an improviser and as a composer. Like Kurtág, Weber creates her own sound cosmos. Inspired by intimate listening in meditative contemplation, not shying away from tonality, but emphasising colour, tonal tensions and overtones - at the same time an invitation and space for deeper listening, pondering, spinning forth," writes Nina Polaschegg in the liner notes.

back to top