Frankie Ford - Complete Releases 1958-62 | FAMS COALITION


Locate a FAMS Store near you, in person or online

Complete Releases 1958-62
Artist: Frankie Ford
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 05/12/2023
UPC: 824046440626

Find and visit a FAMS Black Owned Store,get phone number and directions
(call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)
Purchase now from a FAMS store that sells online

Shop Now

Store Distance Phone Buy


1. Cheatin' Woman
2. Last One to Cry
3. Sea Cruise
4. Roberta
5. Alimony
6. Can't Tell My Heart (What to Do)
7. Time After Time
8. I Want to Be Your Man
9. Chinatown
10. What's Goin' on
11. Morgus the Magnificent
12. The Lonely Boy
13. You Talk Too Much
14. If You've Got Troubles
15. My Southern Belle
16. The Groom
17. Seventeen
18. Dog House
19. Love Don't Love Nobody
20. Saturday Night Fish Fry
21. Let 'Em Talk
22. What Happened to You
23. A Man Only Does (What a Woman Makes Him Do)
24. They Said It Couldn't Be Done
25. Danny Boy
26. It Must Be Jelly
27. Watchdog
28. Your Game Is Over
29. I'm Worried About You
30. Hour of Need

More Info:

Frankie Ford - Complete Releases 1958-62 - This is a comprehensive overview of his output during these years - Frankie Ford was one of the artists often referred to as being typical of "swamp rock" - the style of R&B and rock 'n' roll that was associated with Louisiana and New Orleans during the late 1950s. Born in Gretna, Louisiana, across the Mississippi from New Orleans, he was playing in a band when he was spotted by an artist manager who took him to Johnny Vincent's Ace label in Jackson, Miss. For his second release, Vincent had him record the vocal for Huey 'Piano' Smith's song "Sea Cruise" for which Smith had recorded the backing track, but was now away on tour. The record was a Top 20 pop and R&B hit, and Ford followed up with several smaller hits, before signing to the Imperial label. This 30-track CD comprises the A&B sides of all his singles on Ace, Vin and Imperial from these years, plus the tracks from his Ace album "Let's Take A Sea Cruise" not otherwise released on singles. It also includes his single on Vin with Mac Rebennack (Dr. John) as Morgus & The 3 Ghouls. It features his Top 20 pop and R&B hit "Sea Cruise" and his other career chart entries "Alimony", "Time After Time", "You Talk Too Much" and "Seventeen". He was an artist who very much typified the musical atmosphere of New Orleans in that era, and this is a comprehensive overview of his output during these years.

back to top