Shirley Scott - Queen Talk: Live At The Left Bank [Deluxe] [With Booklet] | FAMS COALITION


Locate a FAMS Store near you, in person or online

Queen Talk: Live At The Left Bank [Deluxe] [With Booklet]
Artist: Shirley Scott
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 04/21/2023
UPC: 875531022766

Find and visit a FAMS Black Owned Store,get phone number and directions
(call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)
Purchase now from a FAMS store that sells online

Shop Now

Store Distance Phone Buy


1. Impressions
2. Never Can Say Goodbye
3. Like Someone in Love
4. Witchcraft
5. Blues By Five
6. By the Time I Get to Phoenix
7. Smile
8. You Don't Mess Around with Jim
9. Girl Talk
10. Blues

More Info:

Queen Talk: Live at the Left Bank is an official never before released concert recording from one of the greatest female jazz organists of all-time, Shirley Scott, featuring a powerhouse trio with George Coleman on tenor saxophone and Bobby Durham on drums, plus special guest vocalist Ernie Andrews on three tracks. This deluxe double CD set was transferred from the original tape reels and features 100 minutes of music packaged in a gatefold sleeve with an extensive 17-page booklet with liner notes by acclaimed music writer A. Scott Galloway; rare photos by Don Schlitten and Raymond Ross, and memorabilia from the Left Bank archives; plus interviews with jazz organ icon Joey DeFrancesco, former Shirley Scott bandmate, saxophonist Tim Warfield, and pianist Monty reminiscing about drummer Bobby Durham. The set is co-produced by label owner musician Cory Weeds and renowned archival recording producer Zev Feldman. The show was recorded at the Famous Ballroom in Baltimore Maryland on August 20, 1972 and hasn't ever been previously available. Philadelphia born Scott rose to fame in the late 1950s playing the Hammond B-3 organ influenced by blues and gospel evolving into '60s soul jazz. She recorded numerous albums for Prestige, Impulse!, Atlantic, Cadet and Candid performing with countless jazz legends including Stanley Turrentine, Oliver Nelson, Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis, Clark Terry and Kenny Burrell. The 10-track set cooks on songs of the day like "By the Time I Get to Phoenix, " "You Don't Mess Around With Jim, " and "Never Can Say Goodbye, " along with standards such as "Smile, " "Witchcraft" and John Coltrane's "Impressions."

back to top