Leon Rosselson - Chronicling The Times (Gate) | FAMS COALITION


Locate a FAMS Store near you, in person or online

Chronicling The Times (Gate)
Artist: Leon Rosselson
Format: Vinyl


Rel. Date: 10/27/2023
UPC: 877746010811

Find and visit a FAMS Black Owned Store,get phone number and directions
(call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)
Purchase now from a FAMS store that sells online

Shop Now

Store Distance Phone Buy


1. Song of the Old Communist
2. Stand Firm
3. Across the Hills
4. Ballad of a Spycatcher
5. Flower Power = Bread
6. She Was Crazy, He Was Mad
7. Topside Down Party
8. Rules of the Game
9. Postcards from Cuba
10. Bringing the News from Nowhere
11. General Lockjaw Briefs the Troops
12. Where Are the Barricades?
13. Talking Democracy Blues
14. Wo Sind Die Elefanten? (Where Are the Elephants?)
15. The World Turned Upside Down (Part 2)
16. The Ghost of Georges Brassens
17. Stand Up for Judas

More Info:

Leon Rosselson has been at the forefront of songwriting in England for over sixty years. For Chronicling the Times, Rosselson delved into his storied political satirists song catalog to assemble seventeen of his favorite recordings. Featuring English folk luminaries such as Martin Carthy and Billy Bragg, this collection proves that Rosselson, now well into his 80s, has created an oeuvre comparable to other social critics such as Phil Ochs. His song The World Turned Upside Down was taken into the pop charts by Billy Bragg and covered by artists including Dick Gaughan and Chumbawamba. Billy Bragg deftly summed up his career: Leon Rosselson is the embodiment of the original ideals of punk rockusing fearless wit and political integrity to highlight the hypocrisies of those in power.

back to top